कोलकाता (Kolkata)

Kolkata! Why Kolkata?” He exclaimed.

“I don’t know, it’s close to home maybe that’s why.” I said, in a hustle to get over that question.

“You people are so home sick.” He said, which was offensive.

“I don’t care about home that much actually. I am getting a job there, so I’m going. I got no calls from Delhi and I don’t see the point of going there without a job.” I explained him.

“Ohk! Ohk! Sorry!”

“You better be. I never cried even when I left my home for college.”

Now that I’m writing it I realize that I was actually very much affronted. And that’s not actually why I worked in Kolkata, I admit, the only reason I went to Kolkata was that I wanted to stay away from everybody whom I knew before.

I just wanted to reboot and I wanted it to be my “the night time”. The thoughts are always more clear. Even though there is no daylight, you are able to see crystal and your thoughts are much discernible.

And maybe that was one of the reasons why it took me no time to fall in love with that place as well. I had no one who knows me and I had nothing else to do in the city. With a job with which I would be able to pay my room rent and meals, I was more than happy. My place of work was at walking distance and I had a pretty awesome time eating egg rolls and sweets.

It wasn’t until the end of my training that I applied to an actual job at some companies in Kolkata that I have made up my mind to stay in this city a little longer and by that it meant an year. And man-o-man that one year passed in a jiffy and that peregrination was marvelous. Right from visiting some of the most beautiful Ghats along the Ganges to ogling at old British monuments, my life just couldn’t get any better.  

But now that my time in the city is over and I have moved back to my home town, it is one of those days when I have the house to myself, I wondered what to write about and that’s when it struck me.

Homesickness, nostalgia are things that I do not often experience, if anybody accuses claims that I had these, it pisses me off. Not that anybody has to ashamed of having these totally humane emotions; it’s just not the person that I am or maybe I am.

While experiencing rain from my balcony, it prompted me of Kolkata.

‘Why did I go to Kolkata?’ I pondered and the answer was just the same, you wanted to be alone.

dsc05090

‘Why did I leave Kolkata? I was still alone and I loved it.’

The lenience of my arrival and departure from this city was extremely expedient. I didn’t ask anyone, if I should stay or leave and it was my very own choice.

Life is so much easier when you do not have options. Life is so much convenient when you don’t have influences. You actually get a chance to make your own decisions based on your own constraints and without being judged by anyone. That sent me to pursuit the reason for the same query.

Why did I leave Kolkata?

I recollected that I wondered the same thing, as I was driving past the Maidan with the rain splashing on the taxi window making every visual of the pale dark blue and vivid green blurry.

Indeed, I found something far more extraordinary than what one expects from a city. Yes, a REBOOT was what I needed when I came here and that was exactly what I was going to get when I left. Because, my time in this city was done and I wanted to move on. Because I wanted to try new options that my career had to offer and it wasn’t possible in this city. Because, there was a new city, waiting for me out there, holding another cherished experience and memories, like this one. Just like before, this choice and thought gave me a lot of positive attitude and happiness as I was sensing that abode’s voodoo again. It gave me joy on influx and it was giving me joy even on my exit.

9611127805_82c960cf39_z

As I sat here at my home staring at the visually clear view of the rains, the same pale blue skies and greenery, it was no surprise when I realized that that city was indeed THE CITY OF JOY.

One thought on “कोलकाता (Kolkata)

Leave a Reply

