A Room With A View

We have a tendency to be prejudiced about a lot of things that we haven’t experienced or encountered. It’s just who we are, it is a part of our daily life.

Maybe that’s why I have always hated rain and things associated with it. I do not like rain, rainy days, dark clouds and wet weather. I said DO NOT. Make no mistake because for me not liking something doesn’t mean that I hate it. I do not like cappuccino, I hate espresso. Even if the later was the last option on the planet, I won’t consider it, and in both the cases preconception is the devil, and I do not mind changing my opinion about it, only if I experience it under proper conditions and guidance.

Maybe that’s what dragged me into persuading myself to step out of the house looking at the dark weather, or boredom, but I knew exactly where I wanted to go. The lake.

The lake is one of the most beautiful neighborhoods I’ve come across. Calm and beautiful, even though it had traffic, the density of the trees surrounding it would negate it. In my heart I’ve always envied people who lived there, esp. the ones with the view.

Moreover, it was surrounded by the park. People from all walks of life were welcome at any time of the day. Students, Joggers, couples, friends, colleagues even eunuchs, but it seemed I was the only one who came there alone but I didn’t mind. I’ve watched a movie alone, had a pizza alone and ate at a restaurant alone. “Table for one.”  It never bugged me.

It wasn’t until I started walking at the edge of the lake that I realized its enormity. I had just walked a quarter of it when I conveniently found a bench. I won’t say that the dark clouds were ascending, but they weren’t descending either. They have been there since yesterday. Like accumulating the resources before they load and blow it all out. That’s when I was flabbergasted by my yearning.

I wanted it to rain.

I couldn’t understand why, but I told myself that if it would rain, I won’t go anywhere. I will sit right here and listen to the rain hit the surface of the lake. For the first time, the thought intrigued me; I don’t want to be anywhere else in the world.

At first it was just waiting, out of hope. As time passed, my hopes became skeptical.  Soon enough, the only sound that I was listening to was the music from my iPod.

I don’t know what got into me that I decided to leave. I left the park in a hurry only to find myself in an art gallery across the street. The paintings I have to admit were stunning and yet again my preconceived notion was shattered. I was surprising myself and my brain was taking it really well.  I loved the art they had put up, though I ain’t an art person.

When I came home, I was content. I felt happy to have experienced things that I never thought I would do. The room of my mind changed its view even though there wasn’t the condition or guidance I talked about earlier. In this case, it was rain.

I have to tell you, it didn’t rain that day. But it surely did the day after, at the time of my inconvenience.  But this time, I loved it. It didn’t make me gloomy. I made myself a nice cup of coffee and heard the rain hit the pane.

Leave a Reply

